South Yorkshire

South Yorkshire is located in the north of England. This area was initially established as a metropolitan county in 1974 until it was broken up in 1986. As a region South Yorkshire is split into four districts that have their own local government systems. These districts are:

South Yorkshire is a region of contrasts. Its cities have a rich and varied industrial past - Sheffield, for example, has a history of steel manufacturing and Barnsley for glass manufacturing and mining. Nowadays, with British manufacturing on the wane these cities have moved into different areas of specialisation. Doncaster, for example, is home to a famous racecourse, Rotherham has the Magna Science Adventure Centre set in a former steelworks and Sheffield offers the largest all season ski resort in Europe.

The South Yorkshire area, however, is not just about an industrial past. This county also has much rural charm and contains some stunning natural landscapes in the Pennines and the Peak District. Rural communities and farming traditions still flourish in certain areas and the region is a popular destination for tourists, walkers and nature lovers. The world famous Chatsworth House is also close to Sheffield. This is considered to be one of the best stately homes in the UK.